B3DA: Day 1

1 04 2011

Its April and another Blog Every Day in April challege is upon us. This year marks the 3rd annual BEDA. Day one of the BEDA challenge: Introduce yourself. Okay. (I’m borrowing the prompts from last year, but I wrote new answers–well, for some of them. I haven’t changed my name from last year, so I guess you’ll have to be okay with that one staying the same).

Name: Amy

Age: 26

Where I live: Last year I was in the midst of moving, this year I’ve just moved again! I live in the Southeast Metro of the Minneapolis/St. Paul area in Minnesota.

Where I call “home”: My “new” library. One of those “you know you’re a Minnesotan if” statements is if you call the Minnesota Zoo the “new zoo” even though it opened in 1978. In 33 years if I’m still referring to my “new library,” I guess my identity as a Minnesotan will be complete.

Why I blog: I lead a life full of awesomeness that just begs to be shared. Or not. I blog for BEDA because I cave to peer pressure (if reading a Tweet from your best friend is considered peer pressure).

What part of BEDA I’m most excited about: I like reading everyone’s posts and getting to know a little bit about some people and places I don’t frequent.

Why I’m doing BEDA [again]: Because Becky makes it easy by organizing everyone and being encouraging and commenting on posts and by scheming up themes to give us boring folk things to write about.

How I first discovered Maureen Johnson/BEDA: Through John Green, see last year’s Day 1 post for more. On a related note, I just finished an e-copy of her new book, The Last Little Blue Envelope, from NetGalley and it was lovely.

Something other BEDA people might not know about me: My new room has a window seat that I plan to fulfill many childhood dreams by sitting in and reading when its not covered with empty boxes and random odds and ends I don’t know where to put away yet.

Another blog I follow: Make and Takes. Lots of crafty ideas. Aimed at parents and homeschoolers and such, I’m always dreaming up ways to adapt them for the library setting.

A writer (of any kind) who inspires me: Last year I said Wendell Berry and the Psalmists. Which is still true. To which I would add Connally Gilliam. She wrote a book that helped me be more accepting of a lot of things about my life, many of which I can’t do a whole lot about except wait and hope and just be myself.

A YouTube channel I love: I don’t watch YouTube with any regularity these days, but the Gotta Keep Reading video makes me get all misty in the eyes. (Yes, I’m a geeky children’s librarian, what can I say?)

A favorite quote: “If I keep a green bough in my heart, the singing bird will come.” It’s a Chinese proverb.

So that’s that, BEDA-ites. Do you feel introduced?

Actions

Information

4 responses

1 04 2011
Becky

How did you manage to use Becky and organize in the same sentence with a straight face? You didn’t did you? Also, when your bestie is me, a tweet is peer pressure πŸ™‚

1 04 2011
Manda

I’m extremely jealous of your window seat!! Sounds like a fun apartment. πŸ™‚

1 04 2011
Autumn Hill

I enjoyed reading your posts last year, so I am glad that no one can really say no to Becky when she’s on a mission.

1 04 2011
Katie

As opposed to the Como Zoo, naturally!

I am also extremely jealous of your window seat.

Leave a Reply

