Beef Au Jus

27 09 2010

I meant to take a picture of this recipe, but I forgot. Let’s chalk it up to a rookie mistake. I promise a picture with the next one! 🙂

This is a quick and easy recipe that makes a fairly affordable chunk of meat tender and flavorful. I like to eat mine with a slice of provolone cheese!

I can’t remember which one of my mom’s various church/school cookbooks this recipe is from, so let’s just say its from her. 🙂

1 (10 1/2 oz.) can beef broth (I use the low sodium kind)
1 c. hot water
1 pkg. Good Seasons Italian salad dressing (dry mix)
1 pkg. beef au jus (dry mix)
3 lb. chuck or deer roast

Mix first 4 ingredients in 5 quart crock pot. Put roast into crock pot. Cook on LOW for 10 to 12 hours. Remove roast and shred it. Return to sauce to keep warm. Serve on Kaiser rolls with sliced onions (or like I suggested, provolone cheese); dip in juice.

Obviously, the longer the roast cooks, the more tender it becomes, but its still tasty right at the 10 hour mark if you can’t wait!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

