It’s a Girl!

7 05 2010

So… who freaked out and frantically clicked through when they read the title? Come on… you can admit it. LOL.

I’d like you to meet… LA Baby. So what’s the story? In Ames, we looked high and low to find Anastasia a realistic looking and feeling baby that didn’t have a computer inside. We use LA Baby in our baby storytimes to demonstrate what the caregivers can be doing to connect with their own real-life babies. Some librarians use a teddy bear or a puppet to demonstrate on, which is fine, but it was very neat to see how the babies connected with LA Baby. There was one boy once who kept crawling over and touching LA Baby and looking at the face. The library I am at now has done a few baby storytimes each year in partnership with the local ECFE, but I’d like to try to get a regular group going. I ordered a LA Baby of my very own so I can practice, practice, practice. I have oodles of plans at my fingertips, so I have plenty of material to work with, I just need to channel my best Anastasia to present it as well as she does!

LA Baby is clearly a girl at the moment, but I think she needs some gender neutral clothing and a gender neutral name.

I found the doll on this site called Annie’s Attic. The doll smells like it came out of a potpourri factory, so I’m hoping I can air it out this weekend. Happy Mother’s Day to all the real moms out there!

Actions

Information

One response

8 05 2010
Becky

Oooh! Can you name him/her Jordan? I have lots of both boy and girl Jordans at my school!!

Also, hilarious!!

Leave a Reply

