BEDA: Day 2

2 04 2010

The topic for the day is music. What to say about music… this is a tough one.  Tough because its hard to know where to start.

As my neighbor Bob once told my mom, “I think she knows a song for everything.” Apparently I spent a lot of my childhood out in our backyard singing songs to myself while swinging on our swingset. Perhaps that is why I still enjoy both of those activities today.

What I like– maybe even love– about music is hard to describe in words. I love being a part of creating something beautiful. Something bigger than me and the others creating with me. Even when I’m singing “These are my glasses, this is my book, I put on my glasses and open up my book” for the millionth time with preschoolers, I have that feeling, listening to them sing with me and the queen of children’s music herself, Laurie Berkner. My definition of “beautiful” is pretty broad.  🙂

I’ll never be the best musician out there, but I don’t have to be. I can be as good as I can be, and when I’m making music with others, their talents improve mine.

I spend a lot of time listening to music too. At work, we stick mostly to soundtracks from stuff like Glee and My Fair Lady– things we know that aren’t too distracting, but fun to sing along to too. I’ve listened to Feelin’ Good from Michael Buble’s cd It’s Time a lot lately. When I drive long distances (like the 250+ miles between here and my parents’) I like to put my iPod on shuffle and see what comes up.

Music is just a little part of who I am.

Actions

Information

2 responses

2 04 2010
Lora

Oh Laurie Berkner! How would we do storytimes without her? My kids LOVE These are My Glasses here and always ask to sing it. They get so excited to close their books on the scary stuff that they literally start shaking!

2 04 2010
Becky

The idea of you singing songs to yourself singing on the swingset is an image I would love to be able to capture. It’s moments like this that I wish I could paint.

Leave a Reply

