Fireflies and Teenagers

29 06 2008

On Thursday night I was greeted by fireflies in my front lawn. I thought it fitting since we had just read The Very Lonely Firefly by Eric Carle in storytime last week. It took me a moment to realize what all the little flashes were in the yard. At first I thought it was just my eyes playing tricks on me with my headlights, but I quickly realized that it was fireflies! I tried to remember a time when I had seen so many– but I couldn’t come up with one. I might possibly be one of the few (from places where fireflies live at least) who never tried to capture the delightful little flashers in a jar. I sat in my car enjoying the moment for just a bit before going into the apt.

Now as I spend a few hours up in the teen area of the library, holding down the fort, I can’t help but think back to those fireflies–being all flashy to attract attention from other bugs and potential mates. We have lots of Fireflies around here somedays. Sometimes I just sit back and shake my head, wondering what most adults wonder when looking at teens, “I wasn’t like that, was I?” I probably wasn’t just like them. Many of the teens come here because they have no where else to go to spend hours on the computer, I was lucky to have lots of places to go, and a computer with Internet access at home. But that doesn’t mean that I didn’t do any “fireflying” of my own. (Unsuccessful as that may have been…:))

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

