A knock at the door

18 06 2008

Yielded two of the city’s boys in blue… looking for Larry. Larry? I believe my consternation was quite evident, as they left after confirming that I had recently moved in.

It has started. It being the Summer Reading Program of course. The theme for the summer is Catch the Reading Bug, and I know at least one other staff member who’s already a little bugged out. The kids love it though and that’s all that matters. I would prefer not to have songs about grasshoppers floating through my head all day, but its a job hazard I suppose. (Grasshoppers are the strangest things, they hear with their legs and they talk with their wings. And they jump, jump, And they jump, jump, jump, jump….and its downhill from there).

Not much else new to report. I’m still figuring out where I fit in in this new place. The church I’ve been going to is great, but not many people who look to be about my age. I’ve heard about a church that has a post-college ministry, but I’m not sure its a church that I would want to worship at full-time. So there’s a bit of a dilemma. I guess I shouldn’t judge the church based just on their website and some comments from people who have gone to services there–I need to go and experience it for myself. And its hard to gauge things based on the summer–as many groups suspend rehearsal or meeting for the summer, I just want to find some good community outside of the library. Not that there’s not community there–because there is, and its good–I just want a little more variety in my life. 🙂 It will come. I’m just not so good at being patient. This weekend I’m off to visit a college friend for a little pre-birthday fun, so I’m excited for that!

Actions

Information

One response

19 06 2008
Wynia

I can see how summertime would make most every ministry seem dead, dead, dead. Give the ones you’re leery about nonetheless. I’m sure any ministry that you’re not familiar with will seem different and not up to par, just because you’re not yet plugged into the community. I’ll be praying for you as you figure out where the best place for you to grow will be.

Leave a Reply

